Book Club Corner Picks: April Recommendations

BookPeople's Blog

book club

Welcome to our Book Club Corner, where each month we highlight books new to paperback we think would make perfect picks for your next book club discussion. If you’re looking to join a book club, we host a wide variety of free, bookseller-run book clubs right here at BookPeople. Join us! We love to talk books.


Featured Books of the Month:

9781594633423_23cccNo Book but the World: A Novel  by Leah Hager Cohen

A story about a brother and sister, Ava and Fred, who as children has what seemed to be an idyllic childhood with parents that believed in curiosity and the natural environment. But as adults they’ve fallen out of touch. When her brother is accused of a shocking crime she must convince the world of his innocence and come to terms with her guilt for not being there for him. It’s dark literary fiction about an unconventional family, the…

View original post 280 more words

The Antagonist, by Lynn Coady

Blogging for a Good Book

The Antagonist, by Lynn Coady

Gordon “Rank” Rankin, Jr., is incensed when he starts to read a novel by a college friend, Adam Grix, whom he hasn’t seen in twenty years, and finds himself unmistakably but very imperfectly portrayed in the novel. He sits down at his computer and fires off email after angry email to his old friend, over a three month period, trying to set the record straight, trying to put into words the events of his life that led to the fateful night in their second year of college when Rank left their circle of friends and never went back.

Rank is particularly incensed that Adam mentions, in the early part of his novel, that the character’s mother had died. “It did nothing,” Rank writes to Adam. “[i]t was just a thing that had happened to this guy – his mom died, by the way. Background information. It’s mentioned once and never…

View original post 638 more words

ShoeBox PR Presents Echo Lew

Art Quench Magazine

Artist Echo Lew

Drawing In Space

Solo Show at the Orange County Center for Contemporary Art

Artist Echo Lew has a fascinating story being the son of a Taiwanese farmer. A self taught inventor, Echo has made a successful career in the contemporary art world and is still going strong with a solo show opening at the Orange County Center for Contemporary Art.

Echo Lew is a very unique artist who manipulates light, to create ‘light drawings’ with his own ingenious style. Echo talks about his work, “I have been drawing with traditional mediums for twenty-eight years. I used oil painting to explore the effects of light in a 2006 solo exhibition, “See the Light,” at the Little Tokyo Cultural Center, partnered with Helen Keller International. I became curious about the effects of lights in motion. Could this become the basis of a new kind of drawing? I experimented with cameras…

View original post 398 more words

New Books! 4/14/15

BookPeople's Blog

HARDCOVER FICTION

The Dream Lover by Elizabeth Berg

9780812993158New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand–which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.

Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand’s many lovers and friends include Frederic Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugene Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always…

View original post 1,039 more words

Kim’s Review of Before I Go by Colleen Oakley

Looks to be a very moving read, I’m planning to hit a bookstore tonight and give it a read.

Reflections of a Book Addict

bigcoA few years ago I read a novel entitled The Replacement Wife. It had a similar premise to this one: a woman with cancer searches for a replacement spouse for her husband. This entire idea intrigues me because I feel like if I were to become terminally ill, my first thought would be for my spouse and his future well-being and happiness. The Replacement Wife turned out to be one of the worst books I’ve ever read, and generally made me nervous to read any novel with a similar plot line in the future. For some reason when I heard about Before I Go by Colleen Oakley something niggled in my brain to give it a chance and I’m so glad that I did. It’s one of the best books I’ve read this year to date.

Plot from Goodreads:

A heart-wrenching debut novel in the bestselling tradition of P.S. I Love…

View original post 588 more words

The Unfortunate Importance of Beauty, by Amanda Filipacchi

Blogging for a Good Book

unfortunateMeet Barb Colby and Lily Stanton, longtime friends and heroines of Amanda Filipacchi’s sharp and witty fourth novel, The Unfortunate Importance of Beauty. Barb is a costume designer and Lily is an acclaimed pianist. Despite their talents, their lives are defined more by their physical appearance than their accomplishments. In response, Barb and Lily set out to subvert society’s perceptions and expectations of their looks.

Barb Colby is in her late 20s, but she looks like an unattractive 40-year-old with bad teeth and unkempt hair and clothing. Strangers typically regard her with a mix of pity and contempt; however, Barb’s appearance is actually a skillful disguise. In reality, Barb is a stunning beauty, but instead of flaunting her appearance, she hides it because she believes it was responsible for the death of a close friend. Gabriel, a successful chef, killed himself after falling in love with her. In his suicide note he…

View original post 494 more words